Tyler Texas Online The Upper East Texas Region, cities, counties, maps and resources

Upper East Texas

East Texas Boundaries

Greetings from East Texas!

As a generality, East Texas is considered to be the region east of Interstate 45, and west of the Louisiana border.

The northern border of East Texas reaches Oklahoma, while the southern edge touches the Gulf of Mexico near Port Arthur.

Three areas of East Texas are commonly defined: Upper East Texas in the Piney Woods near Arkansas and Oklahoma, Deep East Texas further south, and South East Texas closer to the Gulf Coast.

The 12-county Deep East Texas region stretches from Nacogdoches County south down to Tyler County, and from Trinity County eastward to Newton County on the Louisiana border. It includes cities such as Nacogdoches, Crockett, Lufkin, Center, Livingston, Woodville and Jasper.

The 3-county South East Texas region includes Hardin, Orange and Jefferson Counties, and cities such as Orange, Beaumont and Port Arthur. It borders the Sabine River to the east, and the Gulf of Mexico to the south.

About Upper East Texas

The 23-county Upper East Texas region stretches from the piney woods bordering Louisiana and Arkansas to the eastern edge of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex. It covers an area of about 16,000 square miles. The states of Arkansas, Louisiana and Texas meet to the southeast of Atlanta, Texas at the Ark-La-Tex Three States USGS Monument. Read more about the Ark-La-Tex Region.

Harrison County Courthouse, Marshall, Texas
Harrison County Courthouse in Marshall, Texas

The population of Upper East Texas is about 1,150,000 residents. The most populous counties are Smith, Gregg, and Bowie.

From larger cities such as Tyler and Longview, to smaller communities such as Atlanta, Jefferson, Rusk and Gun Barrel City, Upper East Texas offers excellent living and recreational opportunities.

Located in rolling hills, deep woods and pasture land, Upper East Texas has a wide range of appeal, and things to do in the cities and on short road trips.

From world-class golf courses, walking trails, cultural attractions, state parks, festivals, antique shopping, fall motoring and art museums, the Upper East Texas area has something for everyone!

List of Upper East Texas Cities and Towns

Among the cities, towns and communities in the Upper East Texas area are the following:


Map of Upper East Texas Counties and Major Cities

Map of Upper East Texas Counties and Cities


List of Upper East Texas Counties and County Seats

The following is a list of the 23 counties and county seats in Upper East Texas, with the Federal Census Bureau 2020 population counts:

County Name
County Seat
Anderson Palestine 57,922
Bowie New Boston 92,893
Camp Pittsburg 12,464
Cass Linden 28,454
Cherokee Rusk 50,412
Delta Cooper 5,230
Franklin Mt. Vernon 10,359
Gregg Longview 124,239
Harrison Marshall 68,839
Henderson Athens 82,150
Hopkins Sulphur Springs 36,787
Lamar Paris 50,088
Marion Jefferson 9,725
Morris Daingerfield 11,973
Panola Carthage 22,491
Rains Emory 12,164
Red River Clarksville 11,587
Rusk Henderson 52,214
Smith Tyler 233,479
Titus Mt. Pleasant 31,247
Upshur Gilmer 40,892
Van Zandt Canton 59,541
Wood Quitman 44,843
Total - 23 Counties   1,149,993

East Texas Hotels & Lodging listed by city ... click for details