South East Texas

The East Texas Region

Shangri La Botanical Gardens in Orange, South East TexasShangri La Botanical Gardens in Orange, South East Texas

East Texas is generally considered to be the region east of Interstate 45, and west of the Louisiana border.

The northern border is Oklahoma, and the southern edge is the Gulf of Mexico.

East Texas is frequently sub-divided into three areas: Upper East Texas, Deep East Texas, and South East Texas.

The 3-county South East Texas area includes Hardin, Orange and Jefferson Counties, and cities such as Orange, Beaumont and Port Arthur.

It borders the Sabine River to the east, and the Gulf of Mexico to the south. Deep East Texas lies to the north.

Interstate Highway 10 runs through the area in an east-west alignment. Other important highways running generally in a north-south direction include U.S. 69, U.S. 96 and U.S. 287.

The population of the 3-county area is about 389,000 residents.

Map of South East Texas


Map of South East Texas Counties and Larger Cities

Crockett Street Entertainment District in Beaumont
Crockett Street Entertainment District in Beaumont Texas

List of South East Texas Counties and County Seats

The following is a list of counties and county seats in East Texas, with links to the official website of each county:

County Name
County Seat
Hardin County Kountze
Jefferson County Beaumont
Orange County Orange

South East Texas City Governments and City Websites

City of Beaumont

City of Orange

City of Port Arthur

City of Kountze

List of South East Texas Cities and Towns

Among the cities and towns in the South East Texas area are the following:

  • Beaumont
  • Bridge City
  • Kountze
  • Little Cypress
  • Lumberton
  • Mauriceville
  • Nederland
  • Orange
  • Port Arthur
  • Port Neches
  • Sabine Pass
  • Saratoga
  • Silsbee
  • Sour Lake
  • Vidor

More East Texas Resources