Tyler Texas Online Middle Texas Region, cities, counties, and maps

Middle Texas

We all know about East Texas, West Texas and Central Texas. And some refer to North Texas and South Texas.

Another area not found on most maps or websites is what we call "Middle Texas", an imaginary space just to west of, and adjacent to, East Texas. We have produced the map below to help us remember those county names and county seats close to us here in East Texas.

Map of Middle Texas Counties & County Seats

Shown below is a map of the counties and county seats of "Middle Texas" ... just to west of East Texas

Map of Middle Texas Counties and County Seats


List of Middle Texas Counties and County Seats

The following is a list of the 43 counties and county seats in Middle Texas, with links to the official websites of each county and county seat, and the Federal Census Bureau 2020 county population counts:

County Name
County Seat
County Population
Austin County Bellville 30,167
Bosque County Meridian 18,235
Brazoria County Angleton 372,031
Brazos County Bryan 233,849
Burleson County Caldwell 17,642
Chambers County Anahuac 46,571
Collin County McKinney 1,064,465
Cooke County Gainesville 256,526
Dallas County Dallas 2,613,539
Denton County Denton 906,422
Ellis County Waxahachie 192,455
Falls County Marlin 16,968
Fannin County Bonham 35,662
Fort Bend County Richmond 822,779
Freestone County Fairfield 19,435
Galveston County Galveston 350,682
Grayson County Sherman 135,543
Grimes County Anderson 29,268
Harris County Houston 4,731,145
Hill County Hillsboro 35,874
Hood County Granbury 61,598
Hunt County Greenville 99,956
Johnson County Cleburne 179,927
Kaufman County Kaufman 145,310
Lee County Giddings 17,478
Leon County Centerville 15,719
Liberty County Liberty 91,628
Limestone County Groesbeck 22,146
Madison County Madisonville 13,455
McLennan County Waco 260,579
Milam County Cameron 24,754
Montague County Montague 19,965
Montgomery County Conroe 620,443
Navarro County Corsicana 52,624
Parker County Weatherford 148,222
Robertson County Franklin 16,757
Rockwall County Rockwall 107,819
Somervell County Glen Rose 9,205
Tarrant County Fort Worth 2,110,640
Walker County Huntsville 76,400
Waller County Hempstead 56,794
Washington County Brenham 35,805
Wise County Decatur 68,632
Total - 43 Counties   16,185,114